Flank Steak in the Slow Cooker

So remember how I said that one of my New Year’s resolutions was to blog more?  Well, that was over a week ago.  Oops!  I do have a good excuse – I, like the rest of the country, got sick.  And, that was after my husband and my 8-month old baby got sick.  Let’s just say it wasn’t the best week for our family.

Anyway, I did manage to make a meal courtesy of Pinterest this week.  This recipe for Flank Steak, from LifetimeMoms, promised the following in its pin description:

If you enjoy cooking with a crockpot, this flank steak recipe is for you. Flank steak is a rather inexpensive cut a meat. If it is not prepared properly, it can be rather tough. This recipe is so easy and makes the most tender flank steak.

Basically, you throw the browned flank steak into the slow cooker with a few spices and green chillies, and it makes the most tender flank steak.  I followed the instructions (using 1/2 a can of green chilies because we were not in the mood for spicy) and by the end of the day, I had some very tender flank steak.

Unfortunately, it didn’t really taste like much.  I didn’t taste the green chilies, in fact, I think it tasted like pot roast.   I was planning to serve it on tortillas with some pickled onions and sour cream, but I wound up shredding it with some BBQ sauce and serving it on buns.  Not a bad save, but not what I was hoping for.

BBQ Beef

Here’s the recipe.  If you give it a try and it turns out with a delicious, spicy Mexican flavor, let me know what you did!

Flank Steak

1 Flank Steak –  1 3/4 lbs to albs (cut in half)
1 small can of green chiles
1 large red onion, chopped
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon of chili powder
1/4 teaspoon of cumin
1/2 cup of water
1 tbsp of olive oil
1-2 cloves of garlic minced (depending on taste)

1. In a small pan, brown flank steak in olive oil on both sides.
2. Add all ingredients to slow cooker.
3. Cook on low for 4-5 hours if you prefer it sliced, cook 5-6 hours if you prefer it shredded.

Serve shredded over rice, in a tortilla or even plain.

Recipe courtesy of LifetimeMoms.com

Leave a comment