No-Knead Crusty Bread

Crusty Bread

Happy New Year to everyone!  I hope you all had a fabulous holiday season.  I had a very wonderful yet incredibly busy holiday with a road trip back to Michigan.  I took a little break from blogging to recover, but I’m back and better than ever.  In fact, I made a resolution to blog more, so here it goes!

So, this pin – No-Knead Crusty Bread – is all over Pinterest these days.  One of my Facebook friends gave it a try and it looked amazing, so I decided to give it a try a few weeks ago.

I’ll put the full instructions at the bottom of this post, but here’s the quick and dirty.  Mix some yeast, flour, salt and water.  (I threw in a tablespoon of sugar, too.)  Let it rise overnight, then back in an 450 degree oven for 45 minutes.  You have to preheat the pan for 30 minutes beforehand, so plan on an hour and 15 minutes of time with the oven on. Here’s a look before everything went in to the oven.  (Side note: I got this cast-iron dutch oven from my husband for my birthday.  It’s perfect for this recipe!)

Pots and dough

That’s it!  No kneading, no fussing around.  And, when it’s all done….

crusty bread

Viola!!  I wish you could have seen my husband’s face when he saw the bread.  He said, “Oh, I didn’t know you were making real bread” with a look of surprise and shock.  Yes dear, it’s real bread.  Like from the bakery.  And, boy, it was good!   A good crunchy crust with nice soft insides.

One thing I LOVE about this recipe is that you can add things to it to mix things up.  The next week, I added one block of shredded pepper jack cheese into the dough.  The result – a cheesy, spicy bread that was perfect with the meatloaf I had made.  We gobbled up the bread in just a few days.

cheese bread

Here’s the full recipe from Simply So Good.  The website is great if you have any questions about how to make the bread or suggestions for what to add to the dough.

Crusty Bread
3 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 3/4 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon yeast
1 1/2 cups water
In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, salt and yeast.  Add water and mix until a shaggy mixture forms.  Cover bowl with plastic wrap and set aside for 12 – 18 hours.  Overnight works great.  Heat oven to 450 degrees.  When the oven has reached 450 degrees place a cast iron pot with a lid in the oven and heat the pot for 30 minutes.  Meanwhile, pour dough onto a heavily floured surface and shape into a ball.  Cover with plastic wrap and let set while the pot is heating.  Remove hot pot from the oven and drop in the dough.  Cover and return to oven for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes remove the lid and bake an additional 15 minutes.  Remove bread from oven and place on a cooling rack to cool.
5 thoughts on “No-Knead Crusty Bread

  1. Do you know what makes it crusty? I’ve done “from scratch with starter” type loaves that take 2-3 days when I want the real crust, but usually the instant yeast leads to a fast, but soft loaf. Is it the hot pan? Can’t wait to try! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

