Hanging out with my baby…

Baby Activities

So, I’m officially a stay-at-home mom!  It’s a little crazy to think that I’m not going to an office every day or that I don’t have a boss to report to.  Here are a few of my favorite things about being a SAHM!

  1. The dress code – no more work pants!
  2. The food – it’s nice being able to just eat leftovers or make something else instead of eating what I brought to the office.  I like the variety.
  3. The commute – walking across the hall to grab Avery in the morning is pretty nice.  Especially when she sleeps in until 7:45 a.m. (like she did today!!)
  4. My co-worker – Avery is a doll!

One of the challenges of being a SAHM is thinking of things to do with your kid.  Avery is only 3 months old, so she’s not really into toys yet.  I pinned this on Pinterest way back when I was pregnant, and I’m glad I did.  The Activity Library from ProductiveParenting.com is great!  It has lots of suggestions for things to do with your kid at every age, including Early Infant.

So, today I decided to try the Paper Kick by placing a piece of wax paper underneath Avery and letting her wiggle and move.  The paper makes noise when she moves, so it teaches her the whole “cause and effect” thing.  I love watching Avery learn, especially when her little face lights up when she figures something out.  She loved the wax paper activity.  I think it freaked her out at the beginning, but she got the hang of it and was smiling each time she moved her legs and figured out that she was making all that noise.

I’m excited to try a few more of these actives.  Some of them are a little lame (Swaying?  Really?) but some of them are pretty cool.

Especially when it makes her smile.  🙂

Avery smile

Leave a Reply

