Chicken and Spinach Pasta Bake

Now that I’ve been home with my little one for the last two months, I’m trying to develop some sort of schedule for us.  And, I think Mondays may become Casserole Monday.  Lame, I know, but it’s nice to make one big casserole on Monday and then eat it for the next few days.

This week, I decided to give Chicken and Spinach Pasta Bake, courtesy of Saving Money Living Life, a try.  I picked this one because honestly, the picture made my mouth water.  All that cheesy goodness on top – yum!

Since I didn’t have any cooked chicken on hand, it look me a little bit to put the dish together.  (And I bought a bag of frozen spinach instead of a box, so it was a pain to thaw and drain.)  I definitely made lots of pans dirty with having to boil the noodles, cook the onion and chicken, and mix everything together.

Pasta Bake

The results?  Delicious!  My dish turned out just like the picture.  I used a 9×13 pan and followed the recipe exactly as printed.  I never thought to add chive and onion cream cheese to a dish like this, but it made all the difference.  The dish was creamy, full of Italian flavors but not overly fillings.  (Sometimes when I make these dishes, they are way too heavy for our family.)  My husband went back for seconds and took it to work for lunch the next day.  We’re adding this one to the rotation!

2 thoughts on “Chicken and Spinach Pasta Bake

  1. For a casserole recipe, you can use canned chicken if you don’t want to fuss with the additional task of cooking/dicing chicken. I like Members Mark brand from SAMs Club.

Leave a Reply

