Guest Post – Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Hey folks, this is Kathy, Lynn’s older sister, guest-blogging from Portland, Oregon, while she spends some very important time with my sweet new niece Avery* and getting some much-needed sleep when she can! I’m also into Pinterest, adventures and trying new ideas in the kitchen. Recently, I had success with a very easy homemade ice cream recipe from www.kevinandamanda.com (http://www.kevinandamanda.com/recipes/dessert/easy-homemade-ice-cream-without-a-machine.html). Seriously, two main ingredients plus whatever you want in your ice cream, and a freezer – so simple.

The recipe calls for 2 cups of heavy cream and a can of condensed milk as its base – you just stir various toppings into the condensed milk, then beat the heavy cream until it has stiff peaks, fold them together and freeze (preferably overnight). But here’s where it gets creative: You can add virtually anything into the condensed milk – candy, nuts, cake/brownies/cookie dough, fruit, etc. The possibilities are endless.

Homemade Ice CreamMy version: I added about a half a teaspoon of vanilla and two crushed Heath bars to my condensed milk, then folded in the whipped cream and froze it overnight. And how did it turn out? Absolutely delicious. Just the right amount of sweetness, and the texture and appearance are just like regular store-bought ice cream. It is a very creamy ice cream, so I’m tempted to try it with half and half instead of heavy cream and see how it tastes. I think my favorite thing about it is that it takes so little effort – the freezer does most of the work. Definitely recommending it to the new mama in hot, humid Kentucky – she deserves it!

*I’ve been busy with my own project – a sweet baby girl named Avery Elizabeth.  Huge thanks to my sister Kathy for guest blogging for me!  I’ll be back in a week with a new post!

Leave a Reply

