The Butterfinger Cake

Butterfinger Cake

At my husband’s work, they love to celebrate birthdays.  (My former employer did too, and boy, do I miss that!)  For this birthday celebration, I let my husband pick from my “Recipes to Try” board on Pinterest.  His top three:  Almond sheet cake, caramel apple cheesecake bars and our eventual winner, the Butterfinger Cake.

Since I’m 9 months pregnant and responsible for the baking, it was up to me to decide.  The Butterfinger Cake, courtesy of The Country Cook, looked the easiest and honestly, the cheapest.  (Gotta love a thrifty Dutch girl…)

So, how did it go?  Well, it was one of the easiest desserts I’ve put together.  The easy-to-follow instructions were great, and I had some of the ingredients already.  I’m a huge fan of doctoring up a cake mix with a few extra ingredients (the caramel sauce poured over the top of a warm cake was my favorite part) to make it something special.

The verdict from the folks at my husband’s work?  Two thumbs up.  In fact, he had a wrestle away one extra piece so I could even try it. (And, I forgot to take a pictures before he left, and his cutting job wasn’t as pretty as the picture above.  Just image a big mess of cake and whipped cream on a plate.)

My thoughts on the cake?  It was really good – very rich and even a little too sweet for my tastes.  I probably went a little crazy when poking the holes in the top of the cake so a lot of the caramel when into the cake.  Maybe next time I’ll cut back on the amount of caramel and holes…

Anyway, I really like it and would make it again in a heartbeat.  Guess it’s time to move my pin to the “Favorite Recipes” board…

2 thoughts on “The Butterfinger Cake

Leave a Reply

