Cleaning the Dishwasher

So, Thanksgiving is coming.  And, for the first time, I’m hosting my family for the weekend.  That’s right – I’m making a turkey, folks!  (A quick side note: I picked up a turkey from Trader Joe’s this weekend. They brine their turkeys for you, so I’m very curious to see how it turns out!)

And, to prepare for my guests, I’ve been on a house-cleaning mission.  And, this past week, I cleaned something that I have never cleaned before: the dishwasher.  I know what you’re thinking.  Why clean the dishwasher?  Doesn’t it take care of itself?   But I saw this pin floating around Pinterest and figured it was time to give it a try.

So, following the instructions from One Good Thing by Jillee, I grabbed a little vinegar and baking soda and starting cleaning.  The basic instructions are:

  1. Start with an empty dishwasher. And, I mean empty.  Dig around in the bottom of your dishwasher to make sure there are not any rogue pieces on the bottom.
  2. Place a small cup of vinegar on the top rack and run your dishwasher on a normal setting with hot water.
  3. After the cycle, toss some baking soda in the dishwasher and run it again.

Here’s my story:

  1. I emptied my dishwasher and pulled out the bottom rack to see if there was anything in the bottom.  Lo and behold, I found 3 big chunks of glass.  I have no idea how they got there, so they were probably from the owner before us.  Yuck.
  2. I ran the dishwasher on super-hot – pretty simple.  When I opened it back up, I noticed that there were still some stains and gunk on the inside.
  3. I threw in the baking soda, grabbed a brushed and scrubbed the door, the silverware container and the sides.  I ran it again and, voila, clean dishwasher!

In the end, I have a sparkling clean dishwasher.  (Sorry, I didn’t take a picture since you really couldn’t tell the difference unless you stick your head in there.) I added one step where I really scrubbed the insides, but other than that, it was very simple.  Plus, I think my dishes seem to be getting cleaner.  Nice!

Leave a Reply

